Dairy Foods editor Jim Carper served on the 2013 U.S. Dairy Sustainability Awards panel of judges

A judging panel made the final assessment and selection. The panel is comprised of the following individuals:

  • Robert Bonnie, senior advisor for Environment and Climate, United States Department of Agriculture
  • Jim Carper, chief editor, Dairy Foods
  • Jason Clay, senior vice president, Market Transformation, World Wildlife Fund
  • Larry Elworth, agriculture counselor to the administrator, United States Environmental Protection Agency
  • Molly Jahn, professor, Laboratory Genetics and Department of Agronomy, University of Wisconsin - Madison
  • Larry Jensen, chair, Innovation Center for U.S. Dairy and president, Leprino Foods
  • Steve Larson, managing editor, Hoard's Dairyman
  • James Linn, professor, Department of Animal Science, University of Minnesota and past, past president American Dairy Science Association
  • Joel Makower, chairman and executive editor, GreenBiz Group Inc.
  • Randy Mooney, dairy producer and chairman, National Milk Producers Federation
  • Gatz Riddell, executive vice president, American Association of Bovine Practitioners
  • Paul Rovey, chairman, Dairy Management Inc.™ and owner, Rovey Dairy
  • Brian Sloboda, senior program manager, Cooperative Research Network, National Rural Electric Cooperative Association
  • Connie Tipton, president and chief executive officer, International Dairy Foods Association
  • Jason Weller, acting chief, Natural Resources Conservation Service, USDA

The panel also includes two winners from the inaugural Awards program in 2012:

  • Mike Brubaker, dairy producer, Brubaker Farms
  • Steve Rowe, senior vice president, general counsel, Darigold