U.S. Dairy Sustainability Awards
Winners of the 2012 awards program (from left): Mike Brubaker of Brubaker Farms, Mount Joy, Pa.; Kenn Buelow of Holsum Dairies, LLC, Hilbert, Wis.; Bill Bennett of Oakhurst Dairy, Portland, Maine; Andy Werkhoven of Werkhoven Dairy, Inc., Monroe, Wash.; Marie Audet of Blue Spruce Farm, Bridport, Vt.; Bob Joblin of DF-AP, LLC, Gooding, Idaho; and Steve Rowe of Darigold, Inc., Seattle.

The Innovation Center for U.S. Dairy, Rosemont, Ill., seeks nominations for its second annual U.S. Dairy Sustainability Awards program. The program recognizes dairy processors, dairy farms, businesses and collaborative partnerships for their efforts in eco-friendly, sustainable business practices.

There is no fee to enter. For more information or to nominate, go to USDairy.com/Sustainability/Awards.

Nominations are open through Nov. 15, 2012, to all segments of the U.S. dairy value chain — from farm to table — in the following categories:
• Outstanding Dairy Farm Sustainability
• Outstanding Dairy Processing & Manufacturing Sustainability
• Outstanding Achievement in Renewable Energy (a new category)
• Outstanding Achievement in Energy Efficiency (a new category)

“It is a commitment to continuous improvement and leadership that sustains dairy farms and businesses from one generation to the next, regardless of unpredictable weather or economic conditions,” said Paul Rovey, owner of Rovey Dairy and chairman of Dairy Management Inc.
An independent panel of judges will evaluate all nominations based on the program’s or project’s results as measured by triple-bottom-line success — economic, environmental and social. Judges also will assess: the potential for adoption of the practices by other dairy farms and businesses; demonstrated learning, innovation and improvement; and scalability.

“According to research conducted on behalf of the Innovation Center, sustainability isn’t about the size, age or location of a dairy operation. It’s the management practices that make the difference,” said Barbara O’Brien, president of the Innovation Center for U.S. Dairy. “Shining a light on best management practices helps ensure that consumers can continue to feel good about choosing their favorite dairy foods and beverages.”

Read about last year's dairy processor winners, including Darigold Inc., Seattle, and Oakhurst Dairy, Portland, Maine.