The International Dairy Foods Association (IDFA) said it consolidated the governance structure of its constituent organizations — the Milk Industry Foundation, the National Cheese Institute and the International Ice Cream Association — under one central organization, IDFA. As of Jan. 1, IDFA is operating under one set of bylaws and financial reporting requirements, as well as one budget, and the constituent organizations no longer exist.

“As the preeminent advocacy and membership-driven organization supporting the dairy foods business, the International Dairy Foods Association has worked for the last 30-plus years to advance and protect our industry, while acting as a trusted advocate for our members’ regulatory, legislative and communications needs,” said Michael Dykes, D.V.M., president and CEO of Washington, D.C.-based IDFA. “Like our industry, however, the needs of dairy processing companies and suppliers are changing and growing. As our industry and the needs of our members evolve, so must IDFA.

“Under this new structure, IDFA will be more nimble, inclusive and effective in representing the interests of all segments of the dairy processing industry,” Dykes added. “This foundation will allow us to enhance our legislative, regulatory and communication efforts and increase the return on investment for our members.”

The new IDFA Executive Council is now seated and will focus on the business and operations of the association to carry out its fiduciary responsibilities, IDFA said. Five industry segment boards were created to drive policy and strategy. These boards will represent fluid milk, ice cream, cheese, yogurt and cultured products, and dairy-derived ingredients; boards could be added as the industry continues to evolve and new product categories emerge.

Dan Zagzebski, president and CEO of Great Lakes Cheese Co. Inc., was named chairman of the Executive Council, IDFA noted.

“Pursuing priorities as one advocacy organization will enhance the effectiveness of IDFA’s voice in Washington, and creating a structure with room for growth will allow IDFA to support the changing needs of its members and the dairy foods industry overall,” Zagzebski said. “I’m honored to serve as the inaugural chairman of the Executive Council and look forward to working with IDFA and my council colleagues as we navigate the next phase of evolution and growth.”

In December, an interim Nomination and Governance Committee led the process for selecting the IDFA Executive Council members, including the chairs and vice chairs of the industry segment boards. These leaders are now in place and ready to lead IDFA into its next stage of restructuring. The first meeting of the Executive Council will be held at Dairy Forum, slated for Jan. 20-23 in Orlando, Fla.

IDFA Executive Council members include:

Officers (terms ending January 2021):

  • Chair: Dan Zagzebski, president and CEO, Great Lakes Cheese Co. Inc.
  • Vice chair: David Ahlem, CEO and president, Hilmar Cheese Company Inc.
  • Secretary: Stan Ryan, president and CEO, Darigold Inc.
  • Treasurer: David Nelsen, vice president, manufacturing, Albertsons Cos.
  • Immediate past chair of IDFA: Mike Reidy, senior vice president, corporate affairs, Leprino Foods Co.

Industry segment boards chairs and vice chairs (terms ending January 2022):

IDFA Fluid Milk Board:

  • Chair: Jeffrey Kaneb, executive vice president, HP Hood LLC
  • Vice chair: Ed Mullins, executive vice president and CEO, Prairie Farms Dairy Inc.

IDFA Ice Cream Board:

  • Chair: Mike Wells, president and CEO, Wells Enterprises Inc.
  • Vice chair: Rich D. Draper, CEO, The Ice Cream Club Inc.

IDFA Cheese Board:

  • Chair: Louie P. Gentine, CEO, Sargento Foods Inc.
  • Vice chair: Doug Simon, president, Agropur U.S. Operations

IDFA Yogurt and Cultured Products Board:

  • Chair: Philippe L. Caradec, vice president, public affairs & sustainable development NORAM, Danone North America
  • Vice chair: Tim Walls, executive vice president, Schreiber US, Schreiber Foods Inc.

IDFA Ingredients Board:

  • Chair: Andrei Mikhalevsky, president and CEO, California Dairies Inc.
  • Vice chair: Terry Brockman, president and chief operating officer, U.S. Division, Saputo Cheese USA Inc.

Directors (terms ending January 2020):

  • Jay Bryant, CEO, Maryland and Virginia Milk Producers Cooperative Association Inc.
  • Russell Coleman, executive vice president, general counsel, Dean Foods Co.
  • Peter Cotter, general manager, cheese and dairy, The Kraft Heinz Co.
  • Michael Doyle, president and CEO, Foremost Farms USA
  • Tim Galloway, CEO, Galloway Co
  • Douglas Glade, executive vice president, commercial operations, Dairy Farmers of America Inc.
  • Ken Jorgensen, director, dairy operations, H-E-B
  • Jerry D. Kaminski, chief operating officer, Land O'Lakes Inc.
  • Scott McGinty, CEO, Aurora Organic Dairy
  • Tom Murphy, president, Brewster Cheese Co.
  • Brian Phelan, CEO, Glanbia Nutritionals, Glanbia plc
  • Shelley Roth, president, Pierre's Ice Cream Co.
  • Erin Sharp, group vice president, manufacturing, The Kroger Co.
  • Patricia D. Stroup, global vice president and head of commodities, Nestlé S.A.
  • Alan Thomsen, president and CEO, Schoep's Ice Cream Co. Inc.
  • Lawrence Webster, CEO, Upstate Niagara Cooperative Inc.

Gold business partner representatives (terms ending January 2020):

  • Dale Andersen, president and CEO, Delkor Systems Inc.
  • Acyr Borges, president, Serac Inc.
  • Mary Ledman, global dairy strategist, Rabobank - New York
  • Mike Neu, senior vice president, food cultures & enzymes, Chr. Hansen Inc.
  • Chris Olsen, vice president, community and government affairs, Tate & Lyle Ingredients Americas LLC