The Wisconsin Dairy Products Association is honoring Ted Galloway with its 2016 Presidents Award. Galloway is the vice president of the Galloway Co. and general manager of its subsidiary Classic Mix Partners. He is part of the third generation of Galloways to lead the family business for the past 37 years.

Galloway was selected by the WDPA Board of Directors from a slate of nominees from the WDPA Presidents Advisory Committee. The nominees were chosen based on their contributions to the Wisconsin dairy industry and to the Wisconsin Dairy Products Association.

Ted, along with his brothers Tim and Pat and cousin’s Tod and Jeff are active daily in the business management. Galloway Company and their subsidiary Classic Mix Partners are diverse processors of complex dairy ingredients. They are the largest manufacture of sweetened condensed milk and a leading processor of beverage bases and dairy dessert mixes/bases which are marketed nationally. These ingredients are part of formulas used to manufacture some of the most famous food brands consumed in the United States.

WDPA will present the award at a dinner on Monday, July 11 at the 2016 Dairy Symposium at The Landmark Resort in Door County, Wisconsin.

Past WDPA President Award winners were Mike Dean (1998), Bob Aschebrock (1999), Fran Cobian (2000), Bob Bradley (2001), Don Storhoff (2002), John Galloway (2003), George Cornell (2004), Jim Kasten (2005), Bob Wagner (2006), LaVern Stencil (2007), Gary Steinhauer (2008), Dick Eiting (2009), Deborah Van Dyk (2010), Bill Jacoby (2011), Dallas Wuethrich (2012), Joe Weis (2013) and Stu Giffin (2014), and Rep. Al Ott (2015).

Fonterra makes senior leadership appointments

The New Zealand dairy group Fonterra Co-operative Group Ltd. said Jacqueline Chow will lead the newly created Global Consumer and Foodservice business unit. Judith Swales was appointed Chief Operating Officer Velocity and Innovation and Miles Hurrell was named to head up Farm Source (formerly Co-operative Affairs).

Global Consumer and Foodservice will include all consumer and foodservice business units in the co-operative’s key markets. As head of Velocity and Innovation, Swales will manage the co-op’s transformation and disruption agenda, and all research, development and technology.

ASDA elects Karen Schmidt, Brandon Nelson, Barry Bradford

The American Dairy Science Association elected three dairy industry professionals to leadership roles. Karen Schmidt was elected ADSA Vice President – Dairy Foods Division. This is a one-year term after which she will become president of the organization. Brandon Nelson was elected to a three-year term as ADSA Director – Dairy Foods. Barry Bradford was elected to a three year term as ADSA Director — Production Division

Schmidt is professor of animal sciences and industry at Kansas State University in Manhattan. Her research area has focused on the quality and functionality of dairy foods, dairy proteins, and functional foods.

Nelson is the director of innovation and technical services at Daisy Brand in Dallas. While at Daisy, he has assembled a research team with expertise in microbiology, sensory science, rheology, analytical chemistry, and dairy processing to conduct sound research used to develop and improve fermented dairy products.

Bradford joined the faculty at Kansas State University in 2006 with a 40% teaching, 60% research appointment and has subsequently been promoted through the ranks to full professor. His research focuses on dairy cattle nutrition and metabolic physiology, with a particular emphasis on attempting to translate novel findings in fundamental metabolic physiology to practical applications in animal agriculture.

Crystal Wilson is president-elect of Idaho nutrition group

The Idaho Academy of Nutrition and Dietetics has elected Idaho Dairy Council vice president of health and wellness Crystal Wilson, RD, as president-elect of its board of directors. She will serve a three-year term as president elect, president and past president.

Wilson oversees nutrition and education programming at the Idaho Dairy Council. She is responsible for the strategic planning, development and execution of programs for health professionals and educators throughout the state.