The dairy checkoff awarded 13 academic scholarships to students enrolled in programs that emphasize dairy and who have shown potential to become future dairy leaders.

The National Dairy Promotion and Research Board (NDB), through Rosemont, Ill.-based Dairy Management Inc. (DMI), which manages the national dairy checkoff, annually awards $2,500 scholarships to selected college students. In addition, the NDB awards a $3,500 James H. Loper Jr. Memorial Scholarship to one outstanding scholarship recipient, DMI said.

Eligible majors include journalism, communications/public relations, marketing, business, economics, nutrition, food science and agriculture education. Scholarship criteria include academic achievement and a career interest in a dairy-related discipline, DMI said, along with demonstrated leadership, initiative and integrity.

Tony Rice, a Penn State University student from Mount Pleasant Mills, Pa., earned the 2018-19 James H. Loper Jr. Memorial Scholarship, DMI said. Students earning $2,500 scholarships include Christy Achen (Utah State University), Sanne de Bruijn (South Dakota State University), Tiffany Flatman (Brigham Young University), Alexandra Gambonini (California Polytechnic State University), Kathryn Lyne Gardner (University of Arkansas), Morgan Krause (University of Minnesota-Twin Cities), Haely Leiding (University of Minnesota-Twin Cities), Kayla Leiding (University of Minnesota-Twin Cities), Rebekka Paskewitz (South Dakota State University), Elisabeth Regusci (California Polytechnic State University), Andrew James Wilwerding (South Dakota State University) and Dustin Winston (University of Idaho).