Thomas Riggins, v.p. of sales and marketing at Packaging Technologies, Davenport, Iowa, is the new chairman of the FPSA Dairy Council Board of Directors. His selection was announced recently at the FPSA 2007 Conference in Palm Springs, Calif.  As chairman, Riggins will preside over the 8-member Council Board of Directors for a one-year term.

The FPSA conference attracted 300 attendees from more than 110 companies, which was a significant boost in attendance from 2006, said FPSA spokesman Andy Drennan.

“This was the first time each individual industry sector council developed  their own program,” Drennan said. “It really made for some very relevant subject matter from people our members really wanted to hear from.”

Along with Riggins, the 2007-2008 Council Board elected two other officers:  Pete Herb, president, Fristam Pumps USA is the new dairy council vice-chair, and Chad Sprinkman, chief operating officer, W. M. Sprinkman Corporation, is the new council liaison to the FPSA Board of Directors.

Elections were also held prior to the 2007 Conference for five seats on the FPSA Dairy Council Board of Directors.  Each of the following Directors will serve a three-year term. They include Dale Anderson, president, Delkor Systems, Inc.; Gunther Brinkman, v.p. of Marketing, Norse Dairy Systems; Tom Imbordino, publisher,Dairy Foodsmagazine; Dan Larsen, managing dir., VNE Corp.; and John Nelson, chairman, Nelson-Jameson Inc.

The Food Processing Suppliers Association was formed in 2005 when the Food Processing Machinery Assn. (FPMA) announced that it had approved a merger with the International Assn. of Food Industry Suppliers (IAFIS).